0 Items View Cart

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Product was successfully added to your shopping cart.

Russia Drops to the Historic Lowest Ranking

Russia national football team nosedives to its historic lowest ranking after accomplishing the matches at the European Championship and prior to the World Cup in 2018. Before this slump, Russia side ranked 13rd, which is lower than previous record low in 1998. Russia slumps from 38th place in last month to the 53rd place, falling 13 places comparing with the record low in 1998.

According to the latest news, drawing and grouping of the 2018 FIFA World Cup will be host on December 1, 2017. FIFA will categorize all qualified teams on the basis of ranking in October, 2017. Although slumping to the historic lowest ranking, Russia is the top-seed team of Group A. (FIFA will take the host of World Cup as the top-seed team of Group A).

At the extra match on November 16, Peru side at the 10th place defeated New Zealand at the 122 nd place, winning the last past entering into the Last 32. The victory of Peru squeezes Serbia at the 38th place into the Group D. Serbia is likely to be categorized into a group with Brazil and Argentina while these two teams are the only two top seeds in Africa.

It is reported that no more two European teams will be categorized into a same Group, ruling by FIFA. As for other football teams from other continents, two teams in same League and same continent will not be divided into one same Group. So, the “Group of Death” may consist of Brazil, Egypt, Serbia and Spain, or Germany, England, Costa Rica and Nigeria. At present, FIFA has adjusted rules of draw on Group Stage – only categorizing qualified teams by international ranking. All top-seed teams are managed in Group A, and other three Groups are divided by regions.

The List of the Last 32:

Group A: Russia (65), Germany (1), Brazil (2), Portugal (3), Argentina (4), Belgium (5), Poland (6), France (7);

Group B: Spain (8), Peru (10), Switzerland (11), England (12), Colombia (13), Mexico (16), Uruguay (17), Croatia (18);

Group C: Denmark (19), Iceland (21), Costa Rica (22), Sweden (25), Tunis (28), Egypt (30), Senegal (32), Iran (34);

Group D: Serbia (38), Nigeria (41), Australia (43), Japan (44), Monaco (48), Panama (49), Korea (62), Saudi Arabia (63).

As the champion of the 1934, 1938, 1982 and 2006, the blue team Italy side has won the champion of the 1968 European Cup. But at the extra match, Italy is defeated 0-1 in two rounds, and fails to won the qualification of the 2018 FIFA World Cup after 60 years for the first time.

Although renowned as “Uncrowned King”, the orange team only has won the runners up at the 1974, 1978 and the 2010 World Cup. Although having won the champion at the 1988 European Cup, Netherlands has been eliminated in the Group Stage of the 2018 FIFA World Cup qualification, which disappoints many football fans. Four international or continental teams absent for the 2018 FIFA World Cup, which means many famous footballers haven’t the luck to continue their journey in Russia.

Leave a Reply